43

Yeah, I don’t know about this age. I’m not really feeling it right now. Not looking it either, since I cut all my hair off and now I look like an 8-year-old with bedhead. And eyebags.

My actual birthday was Monday, and started inauspiciously when I woke at 3 a.m. and couldn’t get back to sleep. Which worked out in a way, because I did need to get up at 5 and I had sort of forgotten to set my alarm. However, it would also have worked out if I’d woken at 4:55, so it’s hard to be grateful.

Why 5? Why, to drop Ignatz off at 6:15 for a school trip to Vienna. Oh, so this is why people send their kids to private school! I begin to see a point… Other groups went to Berlin, Barcelona and Venice. Pretty cool, huh?

So then the Sniglet had to get to (the same) school at the usual time, 7:45, and then I had to get to my school from there. I very carefully didn’t tell my class that it was my birthday, so I wouldn’t have to provide cake. Cake is not really in my skillset.

Drove back to Heidelberg cross-eyed with fatigue (such a good way to drive!) and did the shopping and took the Sniglet to a doctor appointment, which is why I didn’t get home until 4:30 or so. At which point I collapsed in bed until it was time to go out to dinner. We went to Mandy’s Diner which is in a train car! It was all spookied up for Halloween, that was cool, and I had a cheeseburger and a rootbeer float (with a side of waitress judgy-face), so the day ended better than it began.

Normal week, blah blah blah, got our Ignatz back Friday night, then SNIGLET BIRTHDAY! With friends and Laser-Tag and pizza and Shaun of the Dead. I think a pretty good time was had by all, and the parents all seemed nice. Ignaz left to visit the Godfather in Munich at some point – I managed a distracted hug.

What’s on my mind now: Ig just got back from Vienna and bam he’s gone again before I really got to hear about the trip. Snig had a very busy day and then dashed off to a friend’s house to stay the night so I haven’t really gotten his impressions of the party and all. So, this is parenting teenagers. Huh.

Song du jour of the day: Later als ik groter ben by Bløf

Leave a Reply

