Progress today

Um. I looked at lots of things with stripes! I had every intention of going to knitting for 2-3 hours and then buzzing by Fiona’s for a yarn consult – home by 3, plenty of daylight. But, er, well, a couple friends said (on Facebook) that they wouldn’t be at knitting because they were going to the Jean Paul Gaultier exhibit at the Kunsthal Rotterdam, and there was an extra ticket… and these women are three of my four personal fashion icons (every time I look at them, I think “why don’t I dress like that?”). They make great fashion icons because they’re actual people, right? I mean, we could all dress like Nicole Kidman, but none of us would look like her. But my friends look sort of… attainably fabulous, y’know? I could almost do that.

But I digress. I’m not actually a huge fan of haute couture, but I’ve lightened up since seeing some of Yves Saint-Laurent’s drawings at the Jardin Majorelle in January. If you think of it as art, rather than something to wear while you live your life, it’s a little easier not to scoff. And it’s really, really easy to see Gaultier’s stuff as art, because some of it is hella weird. There are a lot of really interesting juxtapositions, and I really enjoyed the exhibit.

The light wasn’t great for taking pictures, though. You know what else wasn’t great for taking pictures? You know those women who get to the top (or bottom) of the escalator and then STOP, causing a pileup of other passengers behind them and they don’t even notice? They do it getting on and off of trains too. Well those women were ALL at the exhibit today. Any time I backed up enough to get a good look at something, two or three women would appear and have an animated conversation about nothing. Or point at something, flinging an arm across my field of vision just as I touched the shutter button.

So I didn’t go to Fiona’s. And when I got home I spent like two hours editing and posting photos. And now I have ten days till the move, but still eleven rooms to organize. Uh-oh.

Song du jour of the day: Ég á Líf, by Eyþór Ingi Gunnlaugsson. Because how often do you see a guy gut a fish in a pop video?

One response to “Progress today

  • Arja Bee

    grrrI just realized I can’t make it to R’dam before the12th, so I guess I won’t see the JPG exhibit. oh well. I’ve seen the trees wearing Gaultier t-shirt and that was cool. thx for sharing your pics, they’re awesome!

    loved that Ég á Líf video! the fish gutting, and awwww… the cartoon-y people wearing cartoon-y Icelandic woolly jumpers.

Leave a Reply

