Aaaand we’re back

…and DrBob’s gone again! Scampered off to the Deutscher Hispanistentag, the annual conference of Hispanists. He’s not speaking this year, just attending, which makes it something like a vacation for him.

So yeah we went to Heidelberg. Because the Dual Career Service doesn’t just help trailing spouses find jobs, they also provide general settling-in information for out-of-towners. It seems people like to rent to professors and their families, because they expect us to be quiet and unassuming, possessing no more than the usual number of cats and far more than the usual number of books, and therefore disinclined to move around a lot. In our case, they’re not wrong. So the Dual Career lady emailed us about this house in Heidelberg, belonging to a retired Theology professor who now lives in Austria, and DrBob called him and set up a viewing last weekend.

Then, she emailed us about an apartment, spang in the middle of town, with a landlady who didn’t want to give out her number. We gave ours, to be passed to her, and she called DrBob and they set up a second viewing for the same day. 

Well. You could hardly find two more different dwellings that still both managed to be close to perfect. The house is a lot like the Dorfen house that we all miss so much, but it’s got a superb view and the back yard is basically forest, so we have nature but we don’t have to mow or weed it. Lilu would love it, and the owner said it was ours if we wanted it. The apartment is a 4th-floor walk-up in a renovated Art Nouveau building on Bismarckplatz, and surprisingly quiet for the location. The rooms are large and well-kept, and the rent is insanely low – she wants €850 a month for a place that could easily fetch twice that. But Lilu would not be welcome, and we were one of several candidates, so even if we chose the apartment over the house, the apartment might not choose us.

So that was agonizing, and DrBob was not a huge help. He kept saying he could see advantages to both, and what did I want? Argh. I wound up making a color-coded chart to list the pros and cons, because I was making myself so crazy with indecision. Because of course the house was better, but a whole €1000 better? Cat + space + view + extra bathrooms + garage + quiet + certainty + super-nice landlord = €1000? I’m still not sure, but in the end I decided (yes, I, because DrBob never actually did commit to a preference) for the house. I sure hope it was the right choice.

Re photos: I asked if I could take pictures of the house to show the kids, and he said yes, but I didn’t get permission to show them to the general public. So I’ll show them to you on my phone if I see you around, but I’ll only put them up here if I can figure out how to password-protect them. As for the apartment, the current tenants were still there and packing, and I didn’t think they’d appreciate me taking pictures of their stuff.

Song du jour of the day: Silencio, by Buena Vista Social Club. This was my favorite scene in the movie.

One response to “Aaaand we’re back

Leave a Reply

