an email to a teacher

Hi Ms Teacher,

I’m sorry it took so long to respond to your message, but I had to think about what I wanted to say. I understand that from your point of view, it is better for the Sniglet to react with tears rather than explosions when his classmates try to provoke him. I’m not sure I agree, but let’s leave that for now.

Of greater concern to me is that his classmates are still trying to provoke him. I won’t say these confrontations are never his fault, but I don’t think they’re always his fault either. As I understand it, part of the Taalschool’s mission is to teach children proper social behavior – not just how best to react to being goaded, but also that goading people is wrong. As the youngest member of the Schakelklas[*] he is both less able to handle this kind of attention from the other children, and more likely to attract it. So, while I appreciate the [anger-management] coaching for the Sniglet, and I am happy to concede that he needs it, I would also like to know whether you are taking steps to stop the other children picking on him, or whether you are placing the entire burden of responsibility on the smallest pair of shoulders in the class.

To summarize: until he can be with children his own age, I think the Sniglet deserves a little extra protection. I’d like to know what specific steps you are taking in this direction.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
Alala Mamabear

* Schakelklas = transition class for secondary school, so usually 12-year-olds.

2 responses to “an email to a teacher

  • Kelly Fowler

    Nicely written, lady.

  • Jack Tull

    Anna, I was a ‘crybaby’ until 8th grade and my fellow students at Wasatch Academy teased me until I slammed my door and broke its window. Then I laughed and never had that problem again. Crybabies always attract teasers, I think. It’s a matter of being able to laugh at myself and not being bothered by teasing. I was the short kid in class.

Leave a Reply

