Teenager-code

I’m pretty sure he knows all the usual English words, but somehow their meaning seems to change between my speaking them and his “hearing” them. Every night I say “go to bed,” and he heads for the kitchen and fixes himself a snack. Every. Single. Time.

Hm. I wonder which combination of words he would interpret as “go to bed.”

It is a mystery.

Song du jour of the day: C’mon (Catch ‘Em By Surprise) by Tiësto vs. Diplo ft. Busta Rhymes.

4 responses to “Teenager-code

  • Melanie

    Maybe this makes me a bad mom, but I often try to phrase things so that it looks like Ruby is obeying me and we all get to save face. So maybe if you said “commence your bedtime routine” (which clearly must include a snack so he doesn’t waste away over night), he would follow instructions.

  • alala

    I think it makes you an excellent mom, because I did exactly that when he was four. But at 16 he sees right through it. Being outsmarted by your kids is such an exercise in ambivalence.

  • Arja

    does he go to bad after the snack fixing thing? or would that make too much sense …

Leave a Reply

