I has a yay.

So a frequent argument DrBob and I have is that he keeps going to all these exotic places for conferences and such, and he never takes me with him! He says it’s a working trip, he wouldn’t be able to spend any time with me at all, and I believe him, but here’s the thing: I don’t need to be entertained in a fabulous foreign city, all I need is a guidebook and a museum card. But when I point this out, he doesn’t believe me. And, just like a man, he doesn’t dare test my assertion by actually taking me on one of these trips, because he secretly knows I’ll prove him wrong.

Anyway, my birthday present this year is he promised to take me somewhere. This isn’t a test of my assertion, because he won’t be working on this trip, it’ll just be one of the little mini-holidays that we do occasionally. First I picked Seville, but it turned out to be too expensive. DrBob kept suggesting places like Cyprus and Tunisia, which I resisted because he’s a total beach-monkey and I am a city-weekend… monkey. I know he needs a break, and a good wife would have lied to him for his own good and said oh no, I love sand fleas and sunburn, and what mosquito allergy? You must be thinking of someone else. But drat it, it was my birthday present, so I held out for something culture-y. And he found a reasonable fare to…

Barcelona.

Wheeee! Three days between Christmas and New Years, while the kids are at the Oompas!

Gotta go read my Barcelona books!

Song du jour of the day: Just Fine, by Mary J. Blige.

4 responses to “I has a yay.

  • Kel

    Lucky! And tell that man that you are perfectly capable of traveling on your own! Jeez!

  • Melanie

    And she was lovely to have along on our honeymoon (no sarcasm). Okay, don’t swim in Barcelona, case you didn’t know that. And because I have to eat every five minutes, we discovered that KFC in Barcelona has amazing gazpacho. Or maybe Kick bought it out of curiosity while he was waiting for me to use the loo. So excited for you!!!

  • amy

    Oh, that sounds great! I, too, would be perfectly happy on my own in any city anywhere. Problem is, I have these tagalongs. 😉

  • Elemmaciltur

    Yay! Good for you.

    Although try Cyprus. It’s quite nice actually. Museums aren’t that great there, but I found the experience at the UN-Blue Line in Nikosia very interesting (but that’s probably the political scientist in me).

    We (I and A., my ex) were in Páphos, the place where Aphrodite came to shore after her birth. There, Dr. Bob will have his share of the beach. 😉

Leave a Reply

