school and alala! hee!

So today was the first day of my intensive Dutch course, all the way on the other side of town, twenty whole minutes by bicycle, oh the agony! (Before, it was 20 minutes to the train station, buy the ticket, wait wait wait, 40 minutes to East Station in Munich, and then at least a 10-minute subway ride to anything interesting, so this is something of an improvement.)

Aaaand what can I say? It’s a Dutch class. I took about 10 lessons before we moved, and I’ve been here two months, so I already knew everything in today’s lesson, but of course that won’t stay true. Classmates seem nice enough, teacher seems nice enough, building is your typical academic thingy, all beautiful brick and big windows on the outside, institutional linoleum and ugly furniture on the inside. They gave us a free binder! And a notebook, and a clicky-pen! Not bad for €1025, eh?

That’s right. I said €1025. They better run out of stuff I already know pretty quick, is all I’m sayin’.

Oh! And in the welcome-to-the-Netherlands department, I had my first bike crash today! Lost control of the bike, hit the pavement BAM! and that was it. No other people involved, no serious injury, though a man did stop to see if I needed help. Very nice of him, but thankfully not necessary. Aside from a scuff-mark on one of my gloves, I am unscathed.

Song du jour of the day: Everybody Wants to Rule the World, by Tears for Fears.

4 responses to “school and alala! hee!

Leave a Reply

