Allerheiligen

Right, Halloween was yesterday and we did nothing – well, the kids and I watched “Over the Hedge” again, but there was no trick-or-treating or anything. I understand that the International Women’s Contact Utrecht, an expat organization, had a Halloween party out in Zeist, but I was to disorganized to RSVP, and even if I had, I would have been too headachy to go. Besides, Ignatz is 14, and already too old for these things. Next year I’ll take the Sniglet, if he wants to go.

Anyway, Halloween’s an American thing. For Catholics, this is All Saints’ Day (which leads me to wonder what American Catholics do…), and as I’ve mentioned before, this is the day when people visit the graves of their dead relatives. I think it’s a fine tradition, and we made a point of taking the kids last year, but of course this year, we can’t. And this is the year we really should.

DrBob’s grandmother died last week. This sucks in all kinds of ways, because she watched him while his mom worked full-time when he was little, so they were close. She’d been bedridden for the last five years, so we always felt it wouldn’t be long, and DrBob was really bummed when we moved because he was afraid he’d never see her again. And she died on Monday, which was the Sniglet’s ninth birthday (bad timing must run in the family…) and the funeral was Wednesday. Of course we wanted to go, but we couldn’t, not on such short notice.

She liked me, you know. I never did figure out why, but she did.

We haven’t told the kids yet. I’m not sure when we should, or how. The Sniglet will attach great significance to the fact that it happened on his birthday. He still hasn’t really forgiven me for missing his fifth birthday because my mom died.

So yeah. It rained and rained and rained today, and frankly, that suits my mood.

No song du jour of the day today. YouTube is out of order.

4 responses to “Allerheiligen

Leave a Reply

