another one?

SIGH. Ignatz got yet another “censure” from school today. It says he made an “impolite comment.” So I asked him about it, and he says that his history teacher threatened him with extra homework because he was talking, and he said “that’s not fair, you’re talking too.”

One of the things I’ve found most challenging about being a mother is keeping a straight face when I need to. I managed it this time, but I think I sprained a face-muscle.

Song du jour of the day: Lose Control, by Waldo’s People, for Finland.

6 responses to “another one?

  • amy

    I’m betting there’s not much room for individual thinkers in Germany? I’m not keeping a straight face either…

    • alala

      No, there really isn’t. They want little robots. Obviously, there are “special” schools for “special” kids, but none in our neighborhood. One more reason to get out of the boonies.

      P.S., I told DrBob about it and he laughed too. He said it sounds exactly like the sort of thing he would have done at that age.

  • Elemmaciltur

    Teehee, what an answer! Good on him! (Okay, don’t tell him that, but I like the fact that he just said it to the teacher like that.)

  • Melanie

    There are many characteristics that are annoying in a child, but very respectable in an adult. He has quite a few of them, doesn’t he?

    • alala

      He sure does, and I’ve been saying that since he was a teeny tiny baby. I remember telling people that the personality traits I was going to be most proud of when he was a grown-up were the things that were making me the craziest now.

      Turns out, I’m a bit early – I’m already proud and it’s the teachers who are going crazy. I can live with that.

  • leil

    I know this is old, but I laughed out loud.

Leave a Reply

