New Year’s meme

2009 New Years Questions
Ganked from Sandy at Momisodes, and updated (this has actually been in my Drafts folder for a little over a year).

Here’s the rule: Remove 1 question from below, and add in your personal question, make it a total of 20 questions, then tag 8-10 people in your list, list them out at the end of this post. Notify him/her in his/her chat box that he/she has been tagged.

1. At what age do you wish to marry?
Pfft. Look, my parents divorced when I was 2, my dad’s second marriage was stormy and ended when I was 8. My mom never remarried. I had no good examples of marriage before me, so I never intended to get married. Kids, yes. Husband, no. Growing up the way I did, I wasn’t really sure what a dad was for, but when I got pregnant I did think that the baby’s father had a right to be involved, if he wanted to. Turns out, he wanted to, and since we were citizens of different countries, we had to get married for me to get health insurance and for him to have any rights to his child. We are not paperwork people, and if we hadn’t had the citizenship problem, we probably still wouldn’t have gotten around to it. I love him a lot, but for me, that doesn’t logically connect to the idea of going into an office and signing a piece of paper.

On the other hand, I occasionally hear people gritch about how they want partner benefits without having to get married, and I think sheesh. Just go into the office and sign the piece of paper. It’s not that difficult.

2. What color do you like most?
Okay, here’s what you do. Go up to Seattle on a really sunny day, and take the ferry across to Bainbridge. En route, look down at the water. That deep greeny-blue? That’s my favorite color.

3. Where is the place that you want to go the most?
Changes daily. Today, Valencia.

4. Which part of you do you hate the most?
My vast array of stupid, baseless fears.

5. When you encounter a sad moment, what would you do?
Cry. And my nose gets all big and my eyes get all red. So attractive.

6. What are you afraid to lose the most?
My kids, of course.

7. If you won $1 million, what would you do?
Pay off this house. Buy one in Utrecht. Then probably go back to college and get a degree I can actually use to find a job.

8. What’s your wish for the year ahead?
A job.

9. How did you celebrate the New Year?
Our neighborhood was pretty dead, so we went to our old neighborhood with fireworks and champagne, and set off fireworks with our former neighbors.

10. Till now, what is the moment that you regret the most?
Umm, I have a lot of regrets. I don’t really think about them enough to have ranked them. That way lies madness. I spend enough time kicking myself already, thanks.

11. Which type of person do you hate the most?
Anybody who preys on people weaker than they are. Bullies, men who beat up women, adults who hurt children, governments who “get tough” on the poor and sick instead of the fatcat corporate freebooters who line their pockets at the expense of said poor and sick.

12. What is your ambition?
What I have now, only better. I’d like to be a better mom, better wife, have a better job. I love my house, but I could be keeping it cleaner instead of sitting at this computer all day…

13. If you had one wish what would you wish for?
Just to keep my family happy, healthy, safe and together.

14. Name one of your body parts your hubby or boyfriend tells you he adores:
He doesn’t really articulate these things, but judging from where his hands keep going, probably the boobage.

15. What is the best gift you can give someone this year?
I can get a real job and start contributing financially to the household.

16. List two of your Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions.
* Get fit. The muffin tops make me sigh when I see them in the mirror, but the real goal is a healthy heart and lungs, and a strong back.
* Get out. Start talking to people and making an effort to be friendly. I’m such a social zero.

17. What is the craziest thing you’ll do or have done in 2009?
Move to Utrecht, I hope. If I don’t, then not-moving will be the craziest thing.

18. What is the best thing you did last year?
Elect a Democrat.

19. What was the best lesson you learned in 2008?
Stop waiting for the right circumstances and get on with it. Dammit!

20. In this very moment, are you doing what you thought you’d be doing at this stage in your life?
Nope. At this point I should have been living in an apartment above a dry cleaner’s in Portland, helping my only daughter navigate junior high and working some practical yet low-income job like teaching or nursing. But what I have now is okay too.

I don’t actually like tagging people, so I’m going to make that part optional.

Song du jour of the day: I Feel It All, by Feist.

Leave a Reply

