Apostrolypse

I get so irked when people put apostrophes where they don’t belong, especially in plurals. I mean, how hard can it be? I do it as a typo occasionally, but then I notice and I FIX IT. I know that some people don’t think it matters, but seriously, if I see that on a store or restaurant sign, I will not patronize that business. It makes me wonder what else they’re too stupid to do: wash their hands? Check expiration dates? Give me the correct change? Nope, nope, nope. If it’s not stupidity, then it’s apathy, and that’s worse.

It’s happening here in Germany too – increasingly, as English creeps into the language, bringing its plurals with it. Germans call it the “Deppenapostroph,” the dork-apostrophe, and because Ignatz is truly my son, it sets his teeth on edge. I’m so proud. He also has that spoons-in-the-drawer thing, though he is incredibly lax about some other aspects of civilized life…

Anyway, the title of this post is a word he used yesterday – Google says it already exists, but I’d never heard it before. I don’t think he had either, but it’s a fairly easy connection to make.

Song du jour of the day: Like a Star, by Corinne Bailey Rae.

4 responses to “Apostrolypse

  • amy

    Oh, I love it, both Ignatz’s word and the dork-apostrophe word. I’m betting English doesn’t have an equivalent to Deppenapostroph mainly because most Americans would have no idea what the problem is anyway.

  • alala

    Does your computer beep whenever I post a new entry or something! You are so quick!

    Apparently the British call it the Greengrocer’s Apostrophe, which would rather suggest that you’re right about Americans.

  • Isabella

    LOL đŸ˜‰ I’m always double-checking to make sure I’ve used the apostrophes correctly. It’s for it is and you’re for you are, etc.

    Something I notice with Dutch: They use apostophes where we normally won’t. Babies in Dutch is baby’s, for instance. More than one toko store in English, if we were to write it, we would write tokos. But Dutch makes it toko’s.

  • alala

    I KNOW! And it’s correct in Dutch, but it still freaks me out. I may need therapy to help me make the adjustment.

Leave a Reply

