well that could’ve gone better…

I suppose it could’ve gone worse, but still, it was pretty sucky. I met the Sniglet’s class at the ice rink, along with about 600 other moms (not bad for a class of 30 kids) (okay, it was more like 12, but German suburban housewives – my peer group, basically – freak me the fuck out because they are so seethingly competent and make me feel like a schmoe at all times), and I didn’t think to bring a helmet or gloves, so he wasn’t allowed to skate. The Things To Bring list was written on a piece of paper, but I never did see that – when I asked for something written, the Sniglet said he’d lost it.

I stayed at the ice rink with him and we played word games until everyone was done. That seemed to make him feel a bit better. But all in all, it was pretty embarrassing for both of us, and really, I’d hoped to get out of here without any more of these stupid incidents.

5 responses to “well that could’ve gone better…

  • amy

    Seriously? You can’t even ice skate without a helmet? They weren’t playing hockey, were they? Poor you guys. And I bet German housewives are freakishly efficient and competent. In a scary sort of way.

  • alala

    They are. They never miss an appointment or a school requirement or function, and I’m always saying “dang! that was THIS Tuesday!?” I do not fit in here. And by “here” I don’t mean Germany, I mean the suburbs. I think I would struggle in an American suburb too.

    I don’t know that I’ll do much better in the Dutch housewife milieu, but since Dutch women are allowed to work outside the home, I may not have to.

  • Elemmaciltur

    Ahhh….well, that was unfortunate.

    Teehee, you said fuck on your blog. :-p

  • Melanie

    Aaaand, did you meanly make it a learning experience about not losing papers from school? I would have.

  • alala

    @E: yeah, I did. Awhile back my brother told me that his daughter C sometimes sits on his lap while he reads my blog, and she’s learning to read, so I figured I should clean up my language a bit.

    @M: well, I tried to nicely make it a learning experience, but yes, I did get him to admit that this was at least partly his fault.

Leave a Reply

