not-quite-Friday, not-quite-market

regio-kiste Occasionally Vicki has a Friday market challenge, wherein she goes to the market with $20 and photographs what she buys. She also invites her readers to do so, and I keep meaning to get around to it, but this is the first time I’ve actually done it.

Except, not exactly. We do have a market on Fridays, but I don’t usually go there, because it would require me to, you know, talk to people. And when I talk I don’t have a backspace key, which always leads to problems. Instead, I order a crate of stuff from a local farm-thing, and they deliver on Thursdays. It’s about €17 for the medium crate.

So but here’s this week’s: Two kinds of lettuce, almost a pound of spinach, four tomatoes, a fistful of carrots, NOT the beans I wanted, grr. Four beets! Does anybody know something to do with beets that is not borscht? Or the fenchel? That’s the celery-looking thing at the back on the right, and I don’t know what it is in English. Four long skinny green bell peppers. And one (one!) gigantic oyster mushroom, and three smaller ones. That became chicken Stroganoff for Friday, and the spinach became a salad with hot bacon-honey-soy sauce dressing and garlic bread on the side, that the boys inhaled on Thursday. Ignatz in particular is really excited about the box o’ produce, and I usually let him unpack it so he knows what’s in there. If he’s involved in the process, the possibility that he might actually eat some vegetables is marginally higher.

It comes from a place called Höhenberg, which is a sort of farmy home for um, the differently abled? (don’t know the current PC term, sorry.) Anyway, in addition to the organic farm, they have a bakery and candle workshop and they make cheese and all kinds of things. It seems like a good organization, definitely worthy of support, a way to kill several do-gooder birds with one stone. Only of course the stone doesn’t kill them, it catches them in humane traps and sets them free someplace safe while “Boooooooorn Freeeeee….” plays in the background.

Song du jour of the day: The Mayor of Simpleton, by XTC.

4 responses to “not-quite-Friday, not-quite-market

  • Kel

    We went to the American Indian museum in DC yesterday, and I had a really lovely roasted salmon under cranberries and mashed potatoes with beets (from the NW area)- THEY WERE WONDERFUL. I don’t even know if I’ve ever eaten a beet before (Outside of veggie chips), and now I plan to go and get some right away so I can make this again. Here’s a recipe:

    http://coconutlime.blogspot.com/2008/02/beet-mashed-potatoes.html

  • red

    In English, fennel. Fabulous steamed in broth, chicken or vgetable. One of my favorites. Great side dish. Slightly licorice flavored. Can be shredded raw in salads. Great with spinach. Throw the beets in too. No matter how you cook them, the kids will definitely enjoy the end result…the next day.

  • Melanie

    Don’t cook beets in any sort of contact with meat, the colour runs and it’s icky. My favourite thing to do with beets is roast them. Wash, leave skin on, roast at 350? for a long time, test for cookedness the same way you would with baked potatoes. Then, cool them a bit, peel and chop into chunks. Pour on some balsamic vinegar and olive oil while still warm. Serve with toasted walnuts if you have any. So simple. So good. Alarmingly, if someone were to, say, eat a LOT of it at once, that person might be freaked out to see that their urine and poop turned crazy beet colours. But not to worry.

    I use fennel in a soup with a broth base and shrimp tossed in at the last minute, very good.

  • leil

    I love fennel soup, but I have also just chopped it into stir fries. Best when there aren’t a lot of really strong things to compete with it. I’m going to try the chicken broth steamed idea. Can’t help with beets, but I have heard you can make a really delicious slaw from them.

    If you have joy of cooking, they have lots of ideas by veggie in the veggie chapter…just last night I found a really nice receipe for braised turnips–usually I just steam them but I was looking for something a little different.

Leave a Reply

