oops. also argh.

Bleh. Summer came and went so fast I didn’t even remember to sunscreen my kids more than twice. But it’s over, the weather is crap, and I hauled my pathetically protesting butt out of bed at 7 a.m. (in the MORNING!) and hauled my pathetically protesting kids out of their beds too. I fried eggs and toasted toast and brewed tea and poured orange juice and packed lunches and argued about who would wear what and hustled the kids out the door, just barely in time, I thought.

Yeah, I was wrong. A bit. Turns out, they were early.

About 24 hours early.

Jeeeeeeeeez. You know, if I had any friends in this damn town, I would have known that school doesn’t actually start until tomorrow. But I don’t. So I didn’t.

Song du jour of the day: Everybody Plays the Fool, by Aaron Neville. Which should comfort me, but it doesn’t.

5 responses to “oops. also argh.

  • amy

    Oh, that’s funny. But I have no sympathy about the 7 am wake-up call, since mine have been waking me up between 5-6 am pretty consistently, which makes for three overtired people having to deal with each other all day. I wish I knew how to make them sleep. We’d all be a lot happier. I send them to bed at a decent time, but do they sleep? Sigh. No. And then they’re up before the sun.

    My kids got a bit brown this summer, too. I sunscreen sporadically. But we have Mediterranean blood to fall back on. That’s my reasoning, anyway.

  • Melanie

    Oh, babes.
    My kid peed on the floor at story time, because I let her go without a diaper, even though she isn’t really toilet trained yet. Because she argued so convincingly (“my no wear diaper!!”). Does that make you feel better?

  • Breigh (Canadutch)

    haaaaaaahahaha ok I’m sorry but that’s really funny haha

  • Elemmaciltur

    Hahahaha, that’s just too funny.

    BTW, you should go check out Born of Hope. Just a tip from another LotR freak. :-p

  • Kel

    I think you will remember that once upon a time in college land I woke up and was freaking out because I HAD TO CATCH THE PLANE TO BERMUDA THAT DAY. I threw what clothes I had in a bag, forgot an entire load of wash in the dorm laundry (which moldered there for 3 months, thank you very much), and your step mom drove both of us to the airport… to find out I was a day early. Thank goodness they let me on the plane anyway (but man, was my mom surprised to see me!)- security at airports was very different way back when.

    The point is, I sympathize! 🙂

Leave a Reply

