and then there were four

So Michael and Marlon went to their new home on Friday, and we’re down to Jackie and Jermaine. Jermaine has us all trained to feed her icky wet cat food now, and she’s growing well and showing some energy. We’d like her to switch to crunchies, but we suspect she’s too much of a mini-diva to lower herself like that. Well, next weekend it’ll be someone else’s problem.

They are darling dears, but I am ready to go back to having our original two cats. The cat pee smell is driving me crazy. I would very much have liked to spend this weekend scrubbing the entire house with bleach, but I couldn’t – there’s too much work on my to-do list, and besides, as long as the kittens are here they’ll just re-pee everything I clean, so there’s not much point. Also, it’s raining and raining, and our dryer is broken, so the cat-pee laundry is mounting. Bleah.

Tomorrow I get up at 6 a.m. to take MrHusband to the airport. Conference in Poland, five days. I feel myself falling back into that mindset, where I lose track of the long view because my mind is full of little things that need to get done in the next few days. Well. The things will get done. The kittens will move out, the house will get clean*, we will go to Utrecht for a lovely vacation in August. I just need to be patient.

*I am seriously considering removing the baseboards so I can scrub underneath them. I may need someone to talk me down.

Song du jour of the day: Feist, We’re All in the Dance, h/t to Laume for that one.

P.S. Interview with Joss Whedon here.

…singing is the universal language, along with being on fire.

One response to “and then there were four

Leave a Reply

