not much of an update

So I haven’t been updating y’all on the Big Move because the situation is so fluid, there is very little I can say that will most likely still be true five minutes after I hit “publish.”

Well, here’s one thing: this past year, with DrBob in London most of the time, was Too Hard. It turned out to be more than the kids and I could handle. And hopping a plane every weekend turned out not to be as simple as it sounded, so DrBob wasn’t enjoying it much either.

So one thing is decided: We’re moving the whole family, two kids, two cats, and entirely too much stuff, to Utrecht. When? Well, that depends on a lot of things. Where? Dunno yet. How? Man, you ask the hard questions. We got the who and the why figured out, but that’s it.

And it just so happens that I don’t really thrive on uncertainty. With so much to do, it’s hard to decide what to do first. I already talked about how getting rid of stuff is an obstacle course here, and I’ve sort of made a start with the tidying and decision-making and all. But it’s been gray and cloudy, which saps my motivation. And the weight of the task is overwhelming, more so because of how much is still unknown or undecided. And DrBob’s in England this week. I never get much done when he’s gone, because it’s the only time I can have the TV to myself. Carpe diem, yo.

And finally, the thing I haven’t really thought about because if I do it will make me sad, so I’ve stuffed it down deep in my subconscious but I think there might be a small leak and the sadness is trickling in anyway: this house. I love this house. And the way we found it was so random and unlikely, it must have been some kind of kismet. But what kind of kismet finds you a house you only get to live in for two years?

Nope, best not to think about that.

Song du jour of the day: Little Wonder, by Augie March.

3 responses to “not much of an update

  • alke

    what is it you love about this house? I start looking for you here!
    I’ll translate your requirements, and look up what’s online in the region….. starting with schools to go to, distance from work…. just spill your dreams, I’m already here!

  • alala

    Come visit, and I’ll show you!

    Or alternately, that is actually a really good idea for a future blog post. Yeah. I’ll write that soon.

  • Biblically

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Biblically.

Leave a Reply

