life with a teenager

A teenaged cat, that is. Lilu will be a year old in May, but she’s acting like a teenager now, and out of the house most of the time. She scampers into my bedroom every morning, extravagantly snuggly and tracking mud all over my sheets, but otherwise I hardly see her. So yesterday while I was at work, a neighbor turned up to tell Ignatz that Lilu was in their yard, flirting SHAMELESSLY with another neighborhood cat, Eminem, literally flinging herself at his feet (yes, I mean literally – I have seen her do this when she wants a kitty treat from one of her staff, she flings herself down to show off her speckly belly, and her head makes a little thonk sound on the floor, it’s actually kind of alarming). Eminem, says the Helpful Neighbor, is neutered, and clearly at a loss as to how to respond.

Song du jour of the day: Bette Davis Eyes, by Kim Carnes.

3 responses to “life with a teenager

  • Melanie

    Well, at least you know that if one of your kids shoplifts or something, you won’t be kept out of the loop.

    Does kitty need a little kitty helmut? I feel for her. I HATE it when I find out the person I’ve been flirting with is neutered.

  • alala

    Oh yeah, my neighbors are great. The neighborhood was half the reason for buying this house. Well, maybe a third of the reason.

    I think a helmet would be a very good idea, but I don’t think she’d agree. You should have seen her flip out when I put a collar on her. It was pretty funny. I should have filmed it.

Leave a Reply

