joy

Amy wrote a beautiful post today about what brings her joy, and of course ended with the question of what makes her readers joyful (because blogging is especially rewarding when it starts a conversation).

What brings me joy? I don’t want to say, it sounds too nerdy! But I love everything markup-y and programmy that I’ve done, though some of it was hella hard. Making web pages is fun! Tinkering with css and JavaScript (and PHP and MySQL), moving pixels around and picking colors and stuff, I really enjoy it, and so many bloggers out there are ex-web designers who gave it up because they hated it, which ack! Do you know how much I would love to have that job? To have a paycheck and recognition to justify spending significant time doing something so fun? Because the thing is, even though I love doing it, I’m not very good at it. And I’m not good at it because I don’t do it very much, because how much time can you really spend on a hobby when there are children to raise and a house to keep and the million and one tiny tasks that go with being the One At Home (errands, appointments, phone calls), in addition to the neverending guilt of not having found a job-job* yet? And while it is clear that Germany needs me to do this very job, it is not yet clear to Germany. Lots of people here still don’t know what websites are for, and what they are not for.

* Yes, I work very hard, I just don’t get a paycheck for it, as Amy pointed out a few entries back. But my kids are both in school now, and honestly, lunatic cats notwithstanding, I’m not working as hard as I was when they were little. I have time to take a paying job that gets me out of the house. And I want to get out of the house. And with DrBob in London, our life costs a bit more than it did before.

Song du jour of the day: Think, by Aretha Franklin.

3 responses to “joy

  • amy

    Oh, see, I completely understand that. I don’t have any idea what I’m doing when I try to make buttons and fiddle in Photoshop, but I love doing it. And I like laying out newsletters and such, even though the programs I have are ridiculous. I really enjoy making my kids’ birthday party invitations, for example. But…yeah, none of this is going to lead to a job. But like I said…one step at a time. 😉

    (And if/when we decide it’s time for me to look for work, I’ll start with restaurants. I can’t think of any other flexible part-time job for which I’m qualified that would pay as much money as waitressing. I don’t know why I went to college…)

  • jenfromri

    I wish I was better at all the techy stuff; I’m pretty much learning it from the blog. Trial and error. It is fun, though, I can see what you mean.

    Is it just me, or are so many of us stay-at-home moms thinking about finding The Right Thing right now?

  • Joy, part II « alala

    […] 1, 2007 at 11:29 pm (“work?” I do not know this word) Huh. In response to my Joy post, Amy mentioned this: I find it really interesting that several people mentioned trying to combine […]

Leave a Reply

