tag! I’m it!

So Landismom tagged me with a book meme! And I’m sure she didn’t mean it in the “tsk tsk, you haven’t been reading enough” way, but if she had meant it that way, she would have been absolutely right. I haven’t. I keep several books by my bed, and read before I fall asleep – the way things have been going, I usually manage almost a whole paragraph before my eyelids slam shut. The reading in the bathtub has fallen victim to our latest hair-raising water bill. Whoops.

Total number of books:

I couldn’t even begin to tell you. I have them stacked two-deep on most shelves, and we keep buying more.

Last book I read:

Well, I just finished reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets to my sons. We’re going through the whole series. Last book I read for myself? Read as in past tense, meaning I can’t count the 6 or 7 that are in progress, right? Probably Between, Georgia by Joshilyn Jackson. Loved it to bits, could not put it down, did without sleep for a couple days until I got it done.

Last book I bought:

I actually had to look this up in my Amazon account. It was Dare to Repair: A Do-It-Herself Guide to Fixing (Almost) Anything in the Home, because DrBob was moving to London and leaving me alone in a home we OWN, so my key fix-it fu (If anything happens, call the landlord) is suddenly totally inadequate.

5 Meaningful Books:

Erg, meaning. Since I read my books mostly one paragraph at a time, I’m not very good with anything that requires an attention span. It’s a habit I fell out of when I had a fussy baby, and now that my youngest is in school, I could pick up serious reading again, couldn’t I? I should do that.

The most recent is World On Fire, by Amy Chua. It’s about the real effects of globalization and the export of free-market democracy – not the hoped-for outcome that motivates us to spread the secular gospel of American awesomeness, but what is actually happening in the world as a result. None of it really surprises me, but it is kind of nice to have someone articulate my doubts for me.

An old favorite is Literary Criticism: An Introduction to Theory and Practice, by Charles E. Bressler, and it is what it says on the tin: all about the different ways of looking at a piece of writing. Remember sixth-grade Language Arts, when your teacher was all, “What did the author meeeeeeean,” and you were all, “I don’t bleeping know, why don’t you ask him?” This book would have saved me so much frustration if I’d had it then.

Understanding ADHD, by Christopher Green and Kit Chee, really changed the way I understand my firstborn. I just wish I could pass this knowledge on to certain people who are too wrapped up in their own agendas to listen… But at least I understand him a bit better. I hope that helps.

To Kill a Mockingbird. Of course.

Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott. Faith in real life application by an intelligent, articulate person. So many people I know think that religion is for stupid people, and why would anybody choose to be stupid? With a B.A. in Social Sciences, I know several answers to that question, but I usually don’t have the energy to go into it.

And my taggees! Hmmm…

Kelly. Hah!

Kevin. And none of the books can be the same as Kelly’s.

Melanie Blogless. Email them to me and I’ll post it here. We’ll call it a guest post!

Vicki! I bet she reads interesting stuff.

And Catherine, who keeps us posted on what she reads, but even so.

Have at it, peeps!

Song du jour of the day: River of Hope, by Big Country

5 responses to “tag! I’m it!

Leave a Reply

