confession time

I’ve always tried to downplay this, and found innocent-sounding excuses to avoid it (“I just ate”; “Ooo, look! A pen store! I’ll be right back”), but the fact is…

I hate sushi.

There. I said it, and I’m not sorry. Seaweed tastes exactly like low tide. Raw fish is like cat breath you can chew. Sticky rice? I can get that for cheaper, with a pile of Bulgogi on top, right next door. I think sushi is like stunt-food, something you pretend to like just to see if you can get other people to eat it. The food version of the Emperor’s New Clothes.

Hah. I feel so liberated.

Also, not much going on right now. I’ll let you know if anything happens.

Song du jour of the day: If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out, by Cat Stevens.

7 responses to “confession time

  • amy

    One, I like my food cooked (I don’t understand that entire Raw Food movement at all), and two, hello?? Diseases?? ICK. If I ever ate sushi, like by accident, I would be in mortal fear for weeks–no, months–that I’d just ingested some sort of parasite. I hear it’s perfectly safe, but prehistoric man invented fire for a reason. We should use it.

    “cat breath you can chew”–that’s just perfect!

  • Melanie

    You brave, confessing soul.
    I spend much time in Vancouver, where there is a plethora of “sushi” places that also serve general Japanese food – which I like (gyza, tempura, teriyaki, udon), so I can say, “sure let’s go for sushi” but not actually eat any, except for California roll which is cooked, fake crab. Chunks of raw fish, why, no. BLECH!

    I also have a policy of only eating Asian food in um, Asia, or the two next best places for Asian food – Vancouver and Sydney. Much of America has things like chow mein with no noodles (word to the wise, “mein” means noodle in Cantonese, hello!!!) and “fried rice” which is plain white rice with McCains frozen vegetables thrown in – wrong wrong wrong.

  • alala

    @Amy: yeah, I spent too many years in food service not to blinch at the idea of raw anything-but-salad. I don’t even like my fried eggs runny.

    @Melanie: Seattle’s fairly safe for Asian food. Germany? Is not. I cobble stuff together; Aldi has “Asia Week!” twice a year or so and I stock up on buckwheat noodles, soy sauce and sesame oil (no peanut oil, sadly), and another store has sesame seeds for like $2.99 EACH. My yaki soba is probably not wholly authentic, but it beats the pants off the chow mein with spätzle I got here once. Gack.

  • Kel

    I CAN’T be the only person who likes sushi can I? Lovely raw tuna and salmon, beautiful unagi, squid with all the gorgeous tentacles, on a seasoned rice with wonderful seaweed, pickled ginger and wasabi- my favorite food! AGH!

  • alala

    No, you’re not the only one, which is why I’ve been quiet up to now about this, because people act so shocked when you display a disinclination toward cat breath and stomach parasites. And frankly, it’s phrases like “gorgeous tentacles” that make me think this is the Emperor’s New Food and y’all are just trying to gross people out.

  • Awa

    I lurve sushi! Something about eating rice and various meats (cooked of course!) in dried up icky looking seaweed that stinks of toejam! Yum! Really, I love sushi, but not raw. I had raw once, with raw fresh salmon…it was pretty good, but I love the ones with tempura in it, so very very tasty! Not all come in seaweed…some just rolls with the xtras rolled in rice. 🙂

    email me so I can send you my new link.

  • Laura F.

    Not a big fan of sushi. I can eat the vegetarian rolls. But not a big fan, even of those.

Leave a Reply

