almost perfect day

We went to watch a soccer game today, in DrBob’s hometown, oh, let’s call it Jagenau. The Jagenau team is really doing well, and they were playing for first place in the league today. They tied, so they don’t get to be first, but otherwise, everything was just so nice. The weather was good and lots of people were there and they set up this grill and burn sausages and slabs of meat and for €2.50 (= kind of a lot, but what the hell) they’ll slap one on a bun for you. And you get to sit on the grass right up next to the pitch and and shout and drink beer it’s all just so village-y. We don’t do it nearly often enough, I think we’re um, busy or something. But you know, we really should do it more. We’re lucky to have such a good team so nearby.

I didn’t get any knitting done, though. With soccer, you sort of have to pay attention.

Song du jour of the day: Perfect, by The The.

About AKLarsson


4 responses to “almost perfect day

  • Awaiting

    I once played soccer in highschool. It was so not my thing. But having 2 boys, american football and soccer are both in my future as a mommy.

    I expect tons of games and bandages. :)

  • alala

    Well, I hope more games, and fewer bandages, but yeah, with boys that kind of comes with the territory. At least they aren’t playing hockey.

  • Laume

    2.50 is expensive? Even translating that to dollars, so just under $5, that’s not that bad – is it? Do you get chips and a soda with it? I think that’s what it is at the football games. And yeah, you can’t really knit or read or do anything but WATCH the game. Unless it’s gabbing with friends. Fun stuff even if you have to leave handwork at home.

  • alala

    Expensive? Well, the bun-things are like 25 cents each… I guess I’d forgotten about sporting event food prices in the U.S., but yeah, you’re right, 2.50 isn’t a lot, all things considered. But even if it were, it’s worth it just for the fun and atmosphere.

Leave a comment