what you say?

Amy said,

Oh, my word, where can I get a pair of those silver boots?

Not here in Germany, that’s for sure.

I’m glad the school situation has resolved into a plan, at least. I always feel better with a plan.

Oh, so do I, really really. Even if that plan isn’t the one that actually ends up happening, I have it if I need it. Always need a plan.

Samirah said,

you could take some solace in the fact that he’s still way way WAY better than the majority of kids i knew in middle school. or you could not. it’s up to you really.

ps. i went to mark twain middle school. notorious for it’s 6th grad drug dealers and violent weapon problem.

Yep, lots of solace. He’s a great kid, and sometimes I wonder how worked up I should even get about this. And I wouldn’t, except there’s no do-overs: if he botches high school and that later turns out to have been a bad idea, he can’t go back and fix it. Is all.

Elemmaciltur said,

BTW, you forgot “Stefan” and “Thomas”. 😉

You’re right, I did. But now we’ve really got 98% of the male population of Germany covered.

(The other 2% are named something weird that only happens in Germany, like Axel and Carsten and Dieter. And Florian).

Song du jour of the day: Liebe ist Alles, by Rosenstolz.

4 responses to “what you say?

  • ~d

    Hiya chickadee!

    I just heard from sami the other day! I have been away and out of pocket for what seems like forever!
    (arrggh!)

  • Laura F.

    Can’t he go back and fix it? I know many people who completely dropped out of high school for various reasons, all bad. But every single one has pulled his life around since, a lot of them took the GED later and went to college. One even became an astronautical engineer. It’s a harder path than just completing high school and going from there, of course.

    But I’m just saying. Or is it because Germany is that way? I find in France it seems much more that once you are set on a path (and that can be set very young, 11 or 12) it is much harder to change. Not impossible, though. I know someone who is going back to school now.

    Go with your heart, alala. Seriously. That’s the only thing to go with. The brain is pretty dumb. I mean, the brain has its skills, but I once read the comparison of it to instinct as an abacus to a sophisticated computer. The brain is trying weightily & clumsily to reason its way through things that instinct /the gut/the heart/whatever you want to call it has already figured out.

  • alala

    @~d: where the HELL have you been, girl?

    @Laura: well yeah, that’s what I mean. In the U.S. there’s community college and night classes and university extension and all kinds of stuff, and I really wouldn’t worry about it if we were there, because there would always be a way to turn things around if (when) he really wanted to.

    But in Germany? Oh. Mygod. What do you do if, say, you went to college in France and now you want to teach high school in Georgia? You take the education courses you’d need, to supplement the B.A. or equivalent that you already have, and what’s that, a year, tops? In Germany, teacher school is Eight. Freaking. Years. No shortcuts. I have friends here who are licensed to teach in their home countries, but they can only teach in international schools here because their qualifications are not recognized by the public school system, and they don’t want to start all over. They shouldn’t have to.

    I could always send him to the States to recoup whatever he missed here, but ugh. If I can get this whiny about sending him to a boarding school 40 minutes away from here, then another continent is pretty much a last-resort option. It’s not completely off the table, but it’s my least-favorite solution so far.

  • Laura F.

    Well. University in the US is never a bad idea. I’m just saying. I love our university system. And he will be older then and readier to leave the nest (and you to let him). So…nothing’s final, even in Germany! But again, don’t listen to me, go with your gut. If it says, “No, no, no,” to something, that’s definitely worth listening to.

Leave a Reply

