great. just great.

SILs Caspian Socks1We’re leaving for London today! In about two hours, actually, so I was quite pleased to kitchener shut the heel on the second sock today. I should steam-block them, but: 1) I don’t know how, and 2) I don’t have time, because the in-laws will be here in two hours to pick up the kids, and they can take the socks to her today! Otherwise she’d have to wait, all through this warm, sunny weekend, for her new double-thick wool socks… eh. Probably could wait, at that. But that’s not the main thing. The main thing is LOOK! AAUGH! I knitted them mostly at night, by lamplight, while watching Doctor Who on my computer, and it was only today, when I put them on and photographed them in natural light, that I saw: SILs Caspian Socks2 Remember I told you this was a de-stashing project? Well, one of the balls of red yarn I used is a slightly different shade of red than the others.

Shoot.

Me.

Now.

Er, maybe she won’t… notice?

Song du jour of the day: What’s Going On? by Marvin Gaye.

8 responses to “great. just great.

  • amy

    It is so slight that it is utterly impossible to see on my monitor. It will most certainly be impossible to see while on someone’s foot, in a boot, and not smushed up against their other foot. 🙂

    As a knitter who has not tackled Fair Isle colorwork, can I say, I’m so impressed? I’m in awe of this type of knitting. (No desire to do it right now, but in awe of those who do.)

  • Laume

    I can’t see a different red, no matter how hard I look. Maybe though, I’m distracted by the AMAZING fair isle knitting! WOW!

  • Melanie

    Me see only one red.
    Me think it’s better than fair knitting, it looks good to me.

  • bugwit

    Heya! I can pretend that I came here because I’m into knitting…;-) Actually I’ve seen you around for a while and saw you mention that you’re living in Bavaria and I used to live in Neu UIm. I had to say Neu Ulm because Ulm is actually Baden-Wurtemburg, which is too bad for Ulmers. 🙂 I’d ask where you live exactly, but a brief dash through your blog led me to believe that your location is a state secret! 😉

  • samirah

    you watch dr.who? ick.

  • FirstNations

    i don’t notice it; she won’t notice it. meanwhile i need cookies.

  • alala

    thanks for the encouragements, other knitters… I want to say Fair Isle is easy and you should go ahead and jump right in, but it was almost the first thing I tried, and I’ve been doing it for at least 11 years, so I will concede that I’ve probably just forgotten how challenging it was at first. I will say it was key in my learning to knit in reverse, which is an incredibly handy skill, so I’d still encourage you to give it a whack.

    Hi bugwit, thanks for stopping by. Not exactly a state secret, but 1) I got in trouble at work over my blog once; 2) this blog in the wrong hands could possibly harm my husband professionally; and 3) I write about my kids, and I should probably try to protect their privacy a little bit. A really determined stalker could probably find me, but I’m sort of trying not to make it too easy for them: I expect a certain dedication from my stalkers, is all. But to answer your question, we are almost due east of Munich, conveniently close to Salzburg and the Alps, in a town even most other Bavarians have never heard of.

    samirah: yep, and Star Trek too. And I like Rob Thomas. There really is just no hope for me.

    FN: dang, I was just in England, which is cookie-landia. Wish I’d seen your comment before. Next time, I will see what I can do.

  • you can’t run from your knitting destiny « alala

    […] finished the Caspian Sea Socks, as you may recall. They seemed a bit small, but it turns out my SIL has smaller feet than I do, so that should be […]

Leave a Reply

