anybody know a good rain-dance?

I may have mentioned that it really needs to rain. DrBob has been getting hurt at friday soccer with his friends, just because his usual falls are happening on ground that is less forgiving than usual. And all of April was sunny and beautiful and flowery, but now it’s… not. It’s gray and cloudy and gusty, the air feels heavy like it’s about to rain, but I can usually smell rain coming, and I don’t smell it now. It looks like rain, it feels like rain, there should be rain.

But it’s not raining, and this is wigging me out. I’m twitchy and restless, like a dog before a tornado, this is wrong this is wrong it shouldn’t be like this but it’s been like this for days. And my head aches and my neck muscles are reeeeeeally tense, possibly due in part to um, weather-related air pressure stuff, that affects some people, doesn’t it? But I think it’s mostly emotional, due to the sheer sustained inappropriateness of the weather. And of course, I tend to cope with stress by sleeping, but I can’t sleep because I’m too weirded out

So I have nothing to blog about, because I’ve just been napping and muttering to myself for the past couple days.

Except we bought a car! And I had a traumatic, culture-specific pre-schooler’s mom experience today that I really should tell you about, and I will, just as soon as I can concentrate on anything other than glaring at the sky, willing it to rain.

Song du jour of the day: Let It Rain, by, um, that woman. Whatsername.

4 responses to “anybody know a good rain-dance?

  • Elemmaciltur

    well, it’s raining in Munich right now…so I guess your prayers are answered. 😉

  • FirstNations

    oh how i hate that feeling. the weather would do that-or not do that; whaatever- in oregon in the fall. gaaaaah. makes me feel all googy just remembering it.

    on a totally unrelated note: i just bought a beautiful used knitted throw done in a silk-angora? or cashmere? blend. it’s a tight stitch, but it’s already got pilly thingies on it. how do you get rid of them??????

  • alala

    @ El, yep! Gee, what shall I ask the universe for next! Good luck with those papers you have to write, I hope you get a perfect score on all of them. There. I have blogged it, so shall it be.

    @ FN ack, I don’t know! There’s those little sweater de-piller gadgets, but mostly, I think you have to wash things in such a way that they don’t pill in the first place. Sorry, and I hope someone else who comes here has better information.

  • Melanie

    Yay, for the called for rain! Now, do tell about the cultural specific experience.

Leave a Reply

