In which I type with my eyes closed

Probably not gonna correct the typos this time, sorry. A Thing I haven’t mentioned, is that my monitor screen has a… an echo, or a shadow – everything is repeated, palely, ten pixels to the right. A blur? I don’t know what to call it, but I’ve had this computer for about three months, and for about two months, I’ve had tense-as-hell trapezius muscles, and an unshakeable headache, most days. Today it occurred to me to wonder of the two facts are connected. Tomorrow I’ll call the computer store (thank Jehovah we bought local this time) and see if something can be done about it. No threat to the blogging, since I have several other computers to fall back on, though of course all my Stuff is on this one, so photos will be limited.

shelf1Which is why I’d better get Laura’s meme up. It’s a tricky one, because we are a booksy household, and I could photograph about a dozen bookshelves for you. Sadly, many of them look like this:

And I love you, truly I do, but I’m not going to type all those titles out. I just don’t have the time.

smshelfHere’s one you can read. It’s the shelf right next to my computer, and holds all my current career-relevant books (and some other stuff), but probably wasn’t what you meant when you thought you’d like to see my books, as it reveals only one aspect of my no doubt fascinatingly complex character. Yes I am too complex, and mysterious, and deep. And stuff. Just look at all those categories in the sidebar there!

Okay okay, one last try. This is one of the shelves in our living room, which actual public people sometimes see, so I’ve tried to keep the confusion minimal there. whiteshelf These aren’t exactly pre-filtered, much, they’re just the ones I unpacked first, when we still thought we’d have time to move in like organized people. The first picture is what happens when I unpack in a hurry and then a bunch of other books arrive in the mail and I jam them into whatever space I can find and swear I’ll organize them someday.

I signed up to Flickr just so I could post these, and they don’t show up as big as I want them. I’ll see if I can figure out how to fix that. This meme has kind of inspired me, and if I can ever get the camera charged, I may just scamper around the house photographing all our bookshelves, so you can see how terribly spoiled for choice I was. Egad, we have a lot of books. We also spend a lot of time complaining that we don’t have nearly enough books. It’s very sad.

Snape update: my 11-year-old nephew says he thinks Snape is evil. I think… I think JKR wants us to think he’s evil, maybe so that at the last minute she can whip a benevolent Snape out of a hat and surprise us all. Or, maybe, because he is evil. And as she has been obliging enough to write some very good books for us, I think I shall be obliging in return and believe what she wants.

But I really want him to be a good guy.

Song du jour of the day: Why Do Fools Fall in Love? by Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers.

7 responses to “In which I type with my eyes closed

  • Laura Florand

    Okay, when I saw the FIRST photo showed almost no titles, just the ends, and the second photo was all computer books, I thought, Alala is in trouble. But the last photo, we’re getting somewhere. Although, you know, I feel you SHOULD have to type out all the titles. 🙂

    GOOD OMENS–isn’t that a fantastic book? I don’t think I’ve laughed so far since the first time I read Hitchhiker’s Guide.

    I still say Snape is more complex than good & evil. He has lots of evil instincts but he HAS chosen to fight for good despite some of those instincts, and that’s, hey, the best many of us can do. Also, perhaps Harry will have to choose Snape, the way Meg had to choose what’s-his-name, the math teacher she hated, in The Wind in the Door. When the Cherubim said, “Love isn’t a feeling. If it were, I couldn’t love.”

    If Snape is not fighting to try to be on the side of good (he can lose but he has to be trying), I personally will be so disappointed I may NEVER read another HP book AGAIN. 🙂

  • amy

    I can’t seeeeeeee! In that last picture, I can only grasp a few authors’ names. But I will give you a pass, because your monitor is giving you migraines. And Laura, you so gave me chills when you said maybe Harry will have to choose Snape. I LOVE children’s books–and that Madeleine L’Engle trilogy, I’d never read anything so wonderful the first time I read that. I think of that neighborhood, with all the children bouncing balls in time, much more than perhaps is normal…

  • mamalala

    OO! Laura, I love that idea! That Harry might have to … ooo! Fabulous.

    Still, what I basically meant is that I’m not going to try to second-guess or outsmart JKR anymore, just try to flow along with the story and enjoy it.

    Amy, if you click on the image to get to its flickr page, there’s an “all sizes” option there. If you choose the large option, you might be able to read the titles. Sorry, my servers are filling up with blog photos, and I’m running out of places to put them. That’s why I joined Flickr in the first place, but I’m not sure I’m happy with it.

  • amy

    ah, yes, that helped. 🙂

  • Melanie

    He ISN’T and cannot turn out to be evil, because we have already seen him do good. Didn’t he save Harry from falling off his broomstick when what’s his pickle with the turban with You Know Who in it tried to cast a spell to make him fall off? And other good and helpful-to-the-cause things? So tired, so not making much sense here, sorry. Also cannot believe I care so much about this issue. I can NOT believe he is evil, perhaps flawed but attempting to act with integrity? Maybe this means I don’t believe anyone is really truly evil, just screwed up and doing the best they can. That doesn’t make for interesting literature, I guess. And yes, yes, love the Meg idea. I too think of the balls bouncing, the skipping ropes hitting the pavement, the doors opening at the same moment, etc. quite often.
    Interesting folk in these parts, Alala.
    🙂 Melanie

  • Laura Florand

    Oh, I didn’t see I could enlarge. I love your last bookshelf. It’s full of books I would read. Okay, most of them I *have* read, but they’re most of them ones I love to re-read, too. You have good taste, Alala!

    Madeleine L’Engle–that’s an amazing trilogy, isn’t it?

  • DebR

    Hi, I wandered over from Laura’s to see your shelves. 🙂

    That last one really made me smile – at least 3/4 of the books in that photo are books I own too.

Leave a Reply

