one timeless tradition, solidly botched

Happy French… thingy… Day! Okay, here’s the thing. I’m not the most social of beings, and neither is DrBob, and we got together and had kids whose favorite thing to do is hang out in their room and be left alone, just like us. So even as a family with two parents who work at least partly at home, we don’t get a lot of together-time. And we mostly like it that way, although every once in awhile I read yet another study indicating that too little parental attention makes kids grow up to be the guy climbing the water tower, with the rifle. Not the future I want for my kids, so occasionally I try to create some family tradition that we can all have fun with, and hang it on a holiday so that we’ll remember to do it more than once in a lifetime.

So Laura! Invited us all to join her La Chandeleur tradition! And I was supposed to drag you all along too, but I forgot. Anyway, it looked like fun, so I said I’d do it, and I followed her recipe and today we made crêpes. We didn’t have a gold louis, but I did find a 10-franc coin which is utterly useless since France switched over to the Euro in 2002 along with all the reasonable Europeans (yes Britain, that is a dig at you – get in or get out, but get off the freakin’ fence), so we used that.

And I bought Belmandel, which is like Nutella but with almond instead of hazelnut. And there was jam and butter and maple syrup and semi-stewed apples with cinnamon, and bananas and sprinkly cinnamon-sugar and all that good stuff. The apples were the general favorite, with Belmandel-banana running a close second.

pict0377.JPGAnd here you can see our crêpes in progress, the only picture I managed to take because I didn’t want to get the camera all gucky, and I was kinda busy with a fairly messy process. You can see one small pan, so the kids could flip them, and one big pan to make the crêpes in the size my know-it-all husband insists they must be (“Excuse me? Who died and made you French?” sez me.) Aaaand there is the incriminating spatula. Yes, the flippage was a dismal failure and we had to resort to using tools, sad to say. But some of us did manage to hold the 10-franc coin while we hacked at a crêpe with a spatula.

And they tasted really good, even though they looked a bit pre-chewed, some of them. They weren’t pre-chewed, honest and for truly. Just… dropped. A couple times.

But they tasted good! That’s what matters, and that’s why we’ll use the recipe again and get in some good flipping-practice, and maybe buy a better pan, since those are just basic skillets, not real crêpe pans. And thank you Laura, because I would never have done it at all if you hadn’t suggested it, and a fair bit of fun was had by… most. You’ll have to excuse the Sniglet, there’s very little he will actually eat.

Maybe next year.

Song du jour of the day: Samedi et Vendredi, by Bette Midler. Because Vendredi was the actual day it was supposed to be done, but Samedi was when we were all home.

6 responses to “one timeless tradition, solidly botched

  • amy

    Trust me, you did MUCH better than we did. Pictures of my failed attempts are on my blog. We had pancakes for breakfast instead…but Laura assures me we’ll have good luck anyway. 😉

  • Melanie

    Me too me too. Next year that is. Lots of people have pancakes for dinner on Shrove Tuesday (day before Ash Wednesday), that’s a good excuse too.

  • Laura Florand

    I’m glad it worked! If they stuck to the pan, it sounds like it needed more seasoning (some more swipes with corn oil maybe). But as long as they tasted good, that’s what counts. Thanks for joining in!

    Belmandel-banana sounds good. Chocolate and banana is one of my crêpe favorites. I bet little slivers of pear & then some whipped cream would be good with that, too, kind of like a poire belle hélène.

  • dee

    Oh they look great! And seriously, WLS, as long as they tasted ok, you’re golden. Or the crepes were golden. Or the franc was golden. Or something like that. I didn’t try the beer in the batter thing, but am thinking that I may have to try it next time. The oldest son tried to convice me that this was the way to go, but then the little ones all made comments about getting drunk (on crepes? As if!) and I could just imagine the scene in Sunday school when they all trooped in and told their teachers that mommy made them beer crepes for Groundhog’s Day. Ugh!
    Sounds like you guys had a blast though, and I think that was the most important part!

  • A Gala of Chandeleurs! at LauraFlorand.com

    […] Alala carried the tradition into Germany and gloated just a little too much about Belmandel, if you ask me. I have never had Belmandel, and I do not like it when people say something is delicious and I have never had it. I feel hostile pangs of hunger. However, it does sound better than Nutella. So does that chocolate cinnamon sugar. […]

  • A Gala of Chandeleurs! | lauraflorand.com

    […] Alala carried the tradition into Germany and gloated just a little too much about Belmandel, if you ask me. I have never had Belmandel, and I do not like it when people say something is delicious and I have never had it. I feel hostile pangs of hunger. However, it does sound better than Nutella. So does that chocolate cinnamon sugar. […]

Leave a Reply

