Happy Hols, darlings

Since I spent Thanksgiving on an airplane, I didn’t really get to observe the holiday, so I’ll say now that I am so thankful for all of you who read and comment here. You bring me joy.

So, re the sweater. Sez Elemmaciltur…

The Vergissmeinnicht Swatch looks perfect for the yarn and the pattern!

It is almost perfect, and I’m still considering it. But sometimes you (well, I) learn more about what you want as you move through a process, and swatching has taught me that this sweater wants to be a darker color.

BTW, what camera are you using to take that picture? The resolution is huge and the quality marvellous!

Erm… um… well… actually, *ahem* I scanned it. Feels kinda like cheating, but we have the crappy Aldi digicam, and I haven’t really gotten around to learning how to use it yet, so yes. I scan my swatches, and I rarely photograph my knitting, though I should. I’m about halfway done with Ignatz’s cable sweater, and still haven’t taken a picture of it. I should do that, huh? Since it won’t fit in the scanner.

Sez Melanie…

I think you are a faaaaaaaaaaaancy knitter.

Oh, honey. You should see Elemmaciltur‘s stuff. He’s like my knitting hero; you should check him out.

And finally, on the politicization of Christmas. Have you heard about this? Sure you have, how it’s like all atheist and evil to say “Happy Holidays” because that greeting includes the possibility, however remote, that the greetee is not actually Christian? And it’s somehow anti-Christian to admit the possibility that someone might be something else? I just have to wonder, does anybody really take this seriously? Seriously? I mean, even if such a thought drifted across my mind, I’d be too embarrassed to say it aloud.

Huh. I’ve been hearing H-H since I was a kid, and I always thought the Holidays to which it referred were Christmas and New Year’s. Not that I have any objection to wishing everyone a wonderful Christmas, Hanukkah, Eid, Kwanzaa, Solstice, or whatever else leaps to mind, and I hereby do so: Happy Whatever, y’all.

4 responses to “Happy Hols, darlings

  • James

    Happy Whatever to you, too!

  • samirah

    oh man, the green and the new set up confused me for far longer then they should have.
    anyway merry christmas, happy holidays, whatever. you know, i don’t particulary care what people say to me as long as they have the sentiment behind the words.

  • Melanie

    By Happy Holidays, I mean “enjoy the time off of work”!!! Especially our beloved Boxing Day (statutory holiday December 26), which I cherish now more than ever knowing that Yanks don’t do it. Crazy, how could you just go right back to work the day after Christmas??!!?? In a small town in north/central British Columbia (Williams Lake), they also have “Wrestling Day”, which is January 2 -banks are closed, people have the day off, it’s so excellent (used to live there). Happy whatever you can grab, squish, and get some joy out of alala.
    all love!!!

  • Elemmaciltur

    Happy Whatever You Like To Call It! :-p

    Thanks for the compliment…and for the revelation that you actually scanned your swatch!

Leave a Reply

