Would that be a Screege?

Well, I turned out not to be a total Halloween Scrooge after all. One of my neighbors took her two daughters out, and she invited the Sniglet to go along. This neighborhood is clearly not as Halloween-savvy as our old one, so the haul was not huge – he got a mini-pack of gummi bears and a stick of gum. Then they hit the Black Hole.

Thing is, there is a holiday here, roundabout this time of year: All Saints’ Day. As in Mexico, it’s a time for visiting ancestors’ graves, cleaning them up a bit, and thinking about the past and lost loved ones. Unlike in Mexico, the weather invariably sucks and it’s a pretty gloomy and bitter holiday. So, um, the Sniglet et al hit maybe three houses, and then rang the doorbell of some people who’d just gotten back from the graveyard. Visiting the grave of their son. Who died this past spring. Bit of a mood killer, there.

So that was it for the little ones. The big kids abused their priviliges hideously, and the hour I gave them somehow turned into 2 1/2, so their spaghetti-brains (pack a buncha spaghetti and sauce into a little plastic bowl, whop it onto a plate, cut a crease in it with a big knife) were cold and their pumpkin juice (mango Kool-Aid, sent by Kel) was warm, but you know, oh well. People who care about such things tend to show up on time, right? Okay then.

Anyway, Ignatz got to have two friends stay over, they all watched Lilo & Stitch while I sifted through the candy and threw out all the unpackaged stuff (seriously, some people just tossed in an apple or a handful of gummi bears or something. People, if you’re going to import a holiday, import the basic precautions that go with it, okay?), and the Sniglet got to stay up hideously late, and holiday fun was had.

For me, not so much. Lots of noise, lots of mess, and while they were watching the movie DrBob came home all pissy because there’s a soccer game he’d wanted to watch, that he hadn’t whispered a word of to me, and he slammed out the door all affronted. I cleaned up the kitchen and grumbled defensive things about How Was I Supposed to Know? and how unfair he was being – hello, taking responsibility for things I had zero control over? And zero knowledge of? Can you spot the adult child of an alcoholic in this picture? Yeah, so once I noticed that, I realized he wasn’t mad at me, he was just disappointed (or, if he was mad at me, it was too ridiculously unreasonable to deserve my attention) and I calmed right down. Wow, is this how healthy people feel all the time? It’s like losing 10 pounds in a few minutes!

Song du jour of the day: Missed Me, by the Dresden Dolls.

4 responses to “Would that be a Screege?

  • vicki

    They would have done better at my place. I was all stashed up with candy and halloween cookies and caramel apples- and I had 3 children come! Adjusting to Halloween in a new place is tough, I think. Clearly, here in the big city, we are not going to get lots of children coming around- although many live in the neighborhood.

    Re you and Dr. Bob- Nice recovery, so to speak. 🙂

    Anyway, great minds think alike alala. I was thinking about Dia de Los Muertos today, too!

  • samirah

    i’ve never celebrated halloween 😦 damn religious upbringings, they rob you of all fun as a child.

    but your song of the day is fantastic.

  • Elemmaciltur

    Nope, nothing for me with Halloween. 🙂

  • culture win! « alala

    […] 10 11 2009 Right, so I’ve written before about Halloween in Germany, and how I love the holiday but don’t think it survived the transfer to Germany intact, […]

Leave a Reply

